Page tree

Contents

You can copy a single zone or multiple zones from one DNS view to another DNS view. A zone can only be copied into an existing DNS view. Before copying a zone, make sure the target DNS view is available. The source DNS view and the target DNS view must be different. 

To copy a single zone, complete the following:

  1. From the Cloud Services Portal, click Manage -> DNS.

  2.  Click on the DNS View to view the list of zones that are associated with it.

  3. Click  -> Copy for the object or select the object and click Create -> Copy.

  4. Configure the following settings in the Copy dialog:
    • Destination DNS View: Choose a destination DNS view where the object is to be copied. 
    • Error Handling: Select Continue copying on error to copy the object even if there is an error. Select Stop copying on error to abort the copy if there is an error during the copy process. 
  5. Choose the objects to be copied under the following categories:
    • Primary Zones
      • Authoritative DNS Servers
      • DNS Server Groups (Secondaries only)
    • Forward Zones
      • DNS Servers
    • Secondary Zones
      • DNS Server Groups
  6. Click Save & Close to continue with the copy process. Click Cancel to cancel the copy process.
  7. The message "Are you sure? The copy operation could take up to (x amount of time)" is shown. Click Confirm to proceed with the copy process. 
  8. Refresh the page to view the result. 

To copy multiple zones, complete the following:

  1. From the Cloud Services Portal, click Manage -> DNS.

  2. Click on the DNS view to view the list of zones that are associated with it.

  3. Select multiple zones and click Create -> Copy.

  4. Configure the following settings in the Copy dialog:
    • Destination DNS View: Choose a destination DNS view where the object is to be copied. 
    • Error Handling: Select Continue copying on error to copy the object even if there is an error. Select Stop copying on error to abort the copy if there is an error during the copy process. 
  5. Choose the objects to be copied under the following categories:
    • Primary Zones

      • Authoritative DNS Servers

      • DNS Server Groups (Secondaries only)

    • Forward Zones

      • DNS Servers

    • Secondary Zones

      • DNS Server Groups

  6. Click Save & Close to continue with the copy process. Click Cancel to cancel the copy process.
  7. The message "Are you sure? The copy operation could take up to (x amount of time)" is shown. Click Confirm to proceed with the copy process. 
  8. Refresh the page to view the result. 

Note

Only five zones can be copied during a single copy operation. When an authoritative DNS zone is copied, the delegated zones are also copied during the copy operation. 

Warning

Existing subzones are not copied during a copy operation.

  • No labels

This page has no comments.